ACK

No time really for a blog post, but you can seriously hear crickets on this webpage, so I wanted to update you on the status of my summer:

1) I am now a stay at home mom. For the first month or so, there was so much time in my day that I felt like I was feeling my toenails grow. Then Maren adapted to being at home all the time and realized it wasn’t just a long relaxing weekend, and now I am laughing at my pre-stay-at-home-mom self, who thought I would have all this extra time on my hands.

2) Maren is doing very, very well. Since we’ve been home she has not had a single ear infection. She was diagnosed with her first ear infection around 2 months old, and since then its just been one after another. So this is now the longest time in her entire life that she has been off antibiotics and her ears are completely clear. We just had her 15 month check up, and she is about average for height and weight, above average for cuteness, and has a GIGANTIC HEAD. Seriously, like 93 percentile head circumference. I would blame this on Mitch (and do, often and loudly) but the fact is I have a hard time finding hats that fit my huge melon. So…. sorry kid.

3) I have six weeks left of school. SIX. This is my ninth summer of college, so believe me when I say that I feel like this is just going to be a big joke and at the end of it my college will announce that they are now shutting down their diploma mill and ha-ha, so sorry, thanks for trying. GRADUATION IS NIGH.

4) There’s this guy that lives here, and they tell me that I’m married to him. Mitch and I are going on a date tonight! I scratched the inner surface of my brain and I’m pretty sure that the last time the two of us went out alone it was at our fancy-dinner fiasco, which was in December. So we’re batting at about two dates a year. At this rate, Maren’s position as only child is pretty secure.

5) Have you guys watched My Drunk Kitchen?Β It is my new favorite thing ever. I want to invite that girl over and drink cabernet with her and make something really complicated. I’ll bet she’d make me feel very, very good about my cooking.

6) I’m going through a phase. It’s a dangerous phase, and I go through it about every two years. I’m in this funky place where I feel like I need to do something really crazy just to prove to myself that I can. More on that later.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “ACK

  1. Oh my gosh— I might be newly intrigued with this drunk kitchen girl and wildy confused about HOW IS SHE SO THIN drinkin that much? Woww…… Oh my.

    Can’t wait to hear what crazy is lurking therewithin… half marathon? Seen posts about tennis shoe purchases. πŸ™‚

    And…for the record, glad to know someone else underestimated how busy they’d be as a stay at home mom– I once thought it would be all chill and stuff, too. πŸ™‚ haha…what we know now!! WOW!! Great update..thanks! πŸ™‚

  2. Cat

    If you need a partner in crazy…

  3. Lindsay— you are correct…. half-marathon training is in full swing. And its terrifying.

    Cat– YES! Always looking for co-conspirators…. how do you feel about running a half-marathon in September….? πŸ™‚

  4. Cat, do you think you could drum us up some crazy? In my old-age, I’m having a hard time choosing something that will scratch my itch, so to speak. But you seem to be a gal that one could go to at a time like this…. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

