Marriage is….

Wearing your husband’s socks.

For the last ten years, I’ve been working in child care in some form or another– and my work clothes have always been jeans and t-shirts with the company logo. Always. So now that I am having to do some observation hours in a local elementary school, Mitch is having to spend some time putting me through finishing school each morning as he teaches me to get dressed. This was the conversation we had this morning:

“….Do these socks look okay? They’re white.”

“No, no. You can’t wear sports socks with dress clothes. You need dress socks, or at least socks that aren’t white.”

“….but the only dress socks I have are Christmas colors.”

“Fine. Wear some of mine.”

(After some searching….)

“You only have brown and khaki. Which ones?”

“Whichever ones match your pants.”

(Pause)

“My pants are gray.”

(Goes back to searching)

“All right, I found brown, will that work?”

“Your shoes are brown. Probably.”

“Probably?”

“Probably.”

(Pause)

“….So, what you’re saying is, I need to go buy socks.”

Believe it or not, this was actually a step up from yesterday, when I completely shocked us all by owning a pair of nylons. Never stop surprising yourself. That’s my motto.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

